Tuesday, 12 April 2011

A Point Of Design: Berlin Neues Museum wins 2011 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

© Ute Zscharnt
Yesterday it was announced that The Neues Museum in Berlin is the winner of the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, named the Mies van der Rohe Award. The building is a reconstruction, blending old and new, designed by UK architect Sir David Chipperfield.
© Ute Zscharnt
David Chipperfield, Principal of David Chipperfield Architects, said: “The reconstruction of the Neues Museum is a testament to the collaborative process undertaken in a demanding climate of public opinion. The result is evidence not only of the efforts of the professional team but of the commitment of the client and the city authorities to engage in this rigorous and articulated process.”
© Jörg von Bruchhausen
The award ceremony will take place on 20th June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

No comments:

Post a Comment